Album Review: 橙月 – 方大同

Orange Moon (Taiwan version) by Khalil Fong

Orange Moon (Taiwan version) by Khalil Fong

Khalil Fong (方大同) released his fourth studio album, 橙月 (Orange Moon) on 19 December 2008. The album’s been in repeat mode in my player for the past few days. Just thought I’d share some thoughts about this album.

Khalil’s concept for this album is simply to sing love songs that evoke feelings of romance. In this aspect, I think he has achieved it on this album. The songs are soothing and groovy, very comfortable to listen to whether at night or in the day, especially with his soulful voice.

Orange Moon (Hong Kong version) by Khalil Fong

Orange Moon (Hong Kong version) by Khalil Fong

There are a few songs that stand out for me: Singalongsong, 如果爱 and 黑洞里.

Singalongsong is not that ‘singalong’ because the melody in some parts of the song are quite difficult to catch. This is in contrast to some songs where you sort of know how the melody will go even though you are hearing it for the first time. Not that it’s a bad thing; it just shows Khalil’s talent. Nevertheless, I can’t help but want to sing along everytime I hear it (and getting the melody wrong, still, despite having heard it umpteen times) because it’s so catchy.

I’m intrigued by the transition from the verse to the melody in the first part of the song because, if I’m not wrong, the tempo actually goes slightly faster when the song goes into the chorus. Because of this, when the drums part first comes in, it sounds wrong. But I’m sure it’s deliberate and after a few listens, I find that that’s something that makes the song special.

如果爱 stands out for me when I listen to it the first time because it’s groovy.

黑洞里 is simply brilliant, the melody lines in the chorus especially. You don’t know where the melody is going to take you. Melodic surprises throughout the whole song but it sounds really great.

I’d highly recommend this album. It’s a 4 out of 5 for me.

Track Listing
01 – Singalongsong
02 – 小小虫
03 – 1234567
04 – 黑白
05 – 如果爱
06 – 黑洞里
07 – 三人游
08 – 每个人都会
09 – 100种表情
10 – 爱我吧
11 – 为你写的歌

2 thoughts on “Album Review: 橙月 – 方大同

  1. Pingback: Singalongsong - 方大同 Guitar Tab « Music Rambling

  2. Pingback: 1234567 - 方大同 Guitar Tab « Music Rambling

Leave a Reply

