On The Road – 신화 Shinhwa Guitar Tab

It’s been almost two years since I last updated this blog. And what got me to want to post again, is this really wonderful song, “On The Road”, by Shinhwa (신화).

I loved it the first time I heard it (and that was like, a month ago?) and it’s still a song that I have to listen to several times every day – it’s almost like an addiction.

It was the guitar that drew me in. Then the melody got me hooked. And I felt a connection when I found out the meaning behind the song. I knew I want to figure out the chords for it.

“On The Road” (music by Kim Do Hyun, lyrics by Kim Ee Na) is from the tenth studio album, “The Return”, of Korea’s longest-running idol group, Shinhwa. They returned after a hiatus of four years since their last album in 2008, when members served mandatory military services or pursued solo activities.

The chords are simple and basically repeat, but there is variation in the melody, so it does not sound repetitive. Awesome song.

__________

__________

Listen to the song:

Here’s the English translation of the song lyrics:

On The Road

Where are you, do you remember me,
Do you hear me, are you well on the way
Like our promise, I’m going to meet you at the end of this road

There are times when the day is long, and there are times when time flies
You just need to keep making those steps, without wavering

The voice that I didn’t hear then, the face that I didn’t know then,
The love that I didn’t know then, here it comes

You fill up the sky, you blaze the sky aglow,
As if you came ahead of me, as if you’re calling for me, the voice I hear, hello hello
This longing fills me up, this waiting burns me up
Just one more time, shout to me so that I can hear, hello hello hello hello

(Rap) Yeah Everyday I need you, when I get weary bit by bit, be my strength and comfort me
So even if I fall I can try again, And I thank you for that Cuz I feel the same
To be able to walk on this road together step by step, to not part again, I promise you

There are times I want to drop on my knees, and there are times I want to turn back
But I know there’s a reason for this road

You fill up the sky, you blaze the sky aglow,
As if you came ahead of me, as if you’re calling for me, the voice I hear, hello hello
This longing fills me up, this waiting burns me up
Just one more time, shout to me so that I can hear, hello hello hello hello

We are walking together
Standing on the same road

My heart is filled with you
I can see you even with my eyes closed

(Rap) You give me the light to see, I can hear you calling back for me
This promise I’ll always keep
Just remember that I’ll never leave

I’m doing fine
Stay with me
Let me hear you, hear you, say hello, hello, hello

(Rap) My heart you got the key with a new start you set me free
You make me breathe Make me believe That I’ll do this again and you’re all that I need
I was gone now you found me, I feel the love all around me
One thing I know baby I won’t be alone that’s why it’s all cuz of you when I’m on the road

I can see you with both eyes
I can hold you with both arms
Because you’re closer to me, again I hear
Your voice, hello hello hello hello

Source: absolut shinhwa

Leave a Reply

