Album Review: Devil – Super Junior Special Album – 슈퍼주니어 Super Junior

Super Junior is back with a special album, Devil, for their tenth anniversary. Just a few listens to the album after its release on 16 July 2015 and I’m convinced that this is their best album yet. Love the concept and songs on this album.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

First, the concept. It’s a Super Junior album, but infused with the individual colours of their different sub-units. With the exception of Super Junior-H, each of their sub-units – Super Junior-K.R.Y., Super Junior-T, Super Junior-M, Super Junior-D&E – has a song on the album. An interesting and meaningful way to mark this special milestone in their music career, though it’s a pity that Shindong and Sungmin – both serving their military services – are not able to participate in the album.

Despite having songs from Super Junior’s different sub-units in one album, the flow of the album is coherent. A large part, I think, lies in the song arrangements.

In a departure from their previous albums, gone are the songs where synthesizers feature heavily. Instead, the song arrangements are more acoustic. I love it that the acoustic arrangements accentuate the bass, guitars, piano and drums, making the songs sound raw, warm, emotive, urban and groovy.

All the songs on the album are good, and these are my picks for the standout tracks:

  • Devil – for its groovy and playful melody, and dance
  • 별이 뜬다 (Stars Appear…) – for the vocals, and song arrangement that is simple but draws one into the song
  • We Can – for the lyrics in the verses which makes it so inviting to go deeper into the song
  • Don’t Wake Me Up – for the groovy and beautiful guitar arrangement in the intro
  • 첫눈에 반했습니다 (Love at First Sight) – for the fun melody
  • Rock’n Shine! – for the song arrangement and vocals that brings out the spirit of rock and roll

I’m uncovering more about the songs and loving the album more with each listen. I’d give it a 4.75 out of 5.

This special album is a testament to how far Super Junior has come since their debut in 2005, and how they are still going strong even after ten years in the business.

Check out the audio teasers, music video and performance clips for the songs on the album:

Track Listing
01 – Devil
02 – Simply Beautiful (Yesung, Kangin, Siwon, Ryeowook & Kyuhyun)
03 – 별이 뜬다 (Stars Appear…)
04 – Good Love
05 – We Can (Super Junior-K.R.Y.)
06 – Don’t Wake Me Up (Super Junior-D&E)
07 – 첫눈에 반했습니다 (Love at First Sight) (Super Junior-T)
08 – 每天 (Forever with You) (Super Junior-M)
09 – Rock’n Shine!
10 – Alright

P/S: All the songs on the album are so guitar-friendly that I’m inspired to work out the guitar tabs for a few of the songs. Which song(s) should I work on first?


9 Replies to “Album Review: Devil – Super Junior Special Album – 슈퍼주니어 Super Junior”

  1. Thank you to everyone who gave suggestions on which song on Super Junior’s special album I should work on. Here’s the first one: Alright.

    Keep your votes and comments coming!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s