Toy – 블락비 Block B Guitar Tab

Block B does not disappoint with the title track, Toy, from their 5th mini album, “Blooming Period”, released on 11 April 2016.

Just when you are expecting something lively or boisterous from Block B, the song opens with the nonchalant singing of Zico on top of a steady rhythmic bass line as if to throw you off, yet at the same time, drawing you deeper into the song to uncover how it will unfold.

My first impression when I heard the song:

The theme of the song itself is interesting – with the subject likening oneself to a toy that gets played with and thrown aside in a relationship. And it’s easy to get hooked on the song – because it’s hard to get “I’m your toy” sprinkled throughout the song out of the head.

The chorus is catchy and not surprisingly, Taeil nailed it – especially the last chorus. Zico and Park Kyung stands out with their delivery of the rap. P.O’s delivery of the hook towards the end of the song, in particular, also stood out for me.

I wasted no time in figuring out the chords for the song, so here it is:

Update, 16 April 2016: Listened to the song more closely and felt that a D chord was missing in the chord progression. Added that in and also revised the intro chords.

__________

__________

The cinematography of the music video is also dramatic and beautiful, as with most of Block B’s music videos. Check it out:

Here’s what the lyrics say, in English:

Toy

My feelings don’t matter
Toy with me till you get sick of me
If it’s for you, I wouldn’t mind being broken
Because I’m a toy, toy

Throw me away if I’m useless
I just want to be remembered
Everything, I do it for you
I’m a toy, toy

When I tell you my long-lost secrets
You would comfort me
And smile softly at me
Even though I was thrown away in the corner
My fate is in your hands
Girl use me while you can
I’m all yours

There’s nothing I want from you
If I can see you be filled with me
I’ll give you everything, please take me
If love is a game, play me
Now you know, all you need is me
I’m your toy, I’m your toy, I’m your toy
If love is a game, play me

“What am I to you?”
Is it selfish of me to ask this?
I’ve poured every bit of myself to you
But I feel like expectations are a luxury
I can’t step away from your world
I just want to be displayed in your memories
You’ll find me once you’ve quietened down
It might be wiser to be a fool at love

I can’t say anything to you
My lips are sealed tight
But I’ve written you so many letters
It might be a small heartache
But I want you to be sad
Girl use me while you can
I’m all yours

There’s nothing I want from you
If I can see you be filled with me
I’ll give you everything, please take me
If love is a game, play me
Now you know, all you need is me
I’m your toy

We can never be equal
You’re my only one, but I’m one out of many
I sacrifice myself, toeing the line
But I make up conclusions in my head
I’m fired up, but just a flame in the wind to you
My tears show how much I’ve cared
If I stop running, I know I will fall
Will you please walk with me once?

There’s nothing I want from you
If I can see you be filled with me
I’ll give you everything, please take me
If love is a game, play me
Now you know, all you need is me
I’m your toy, I’m your toy, I’m your toy
If love is a game, play me

Source: KBS World TV YouTube channel

Update, 26 April 2016: Found this very much better translation of the lyrics – less literal and now the story makes more sense and is so much more vivid.

8 thoughts on “Toy – 블락비 Block B Guitar Tab

  1. Pingback: Album Review: Blooming Period – 블락비 Block B | Music Rambling

  2. Thanks so much for the chords! Are you planning on uploading the chords for A Few Years Later too? I’d love to see them!

    • Hi Annie,

      Thanks for stopping by. Hope you have fun playing the song!

      I did start working on A Few Years Later, and got stuck for a bit. I only post a guitar tab when I’m confident the chords are correct, so will continue to work on it. 🙂

  3. thank you so much 🙂 it helps me alot and the translation is more understandable than the one in youtube. I’ll wait for A few years later update ^^

    • Hi namkihye,

      Thanks for your note. Glad to know the chords helped!

      I’m working hard on A Few Years Later – just need that eureka moment… ;p

  4. thank you for making this. *^* but i still have trouble finding the strumming pattern. can you tell me how it goes?

    • Hi Alex,

      The song is quite dynamic and can be played differently at different parts. For example: palm muting for the first verse, percussive slap technique for the second verse and strumming each chord once for the pre-chorus.

      For the chorus, this is the strumming pattern that can be used:

      1 e and a | 2 e and a | 3 e and a | 4 e and a
      D           D    D  U     U  D      D    D  U
      

      At the counts of 2 and 4, you can use the slap technique to get a percussive sound, just like the snare drum beats in the song.

      Hope this helps, and have fun experimenting with the song!

  5. Pingback: Round-up 2016: Year in music | Music Rambling

Leave a Reply

