Pulse – 국카스텐 Guckkasten Guitar Tab

South Korean indie rock band Guckkasten released their latest and fourth digital single, Pulse, on 12 June 2016. Although they’ve been around since 2003 – first as The C.O.M. before re-grouping as Guckkasten in 2007 – I only discovered them recently.

They are one of the best bands I’ve heard in a while, hence I was very much looking forward to this release. Known for their experimental sounds, the title of the single itself already fascinated me. As it turned out, I was enthralled the moment I listened to it.

The song starts with a pulsating beat and Ha Hyunwoo (Guckkasten’s frontman and vocalist) singing in his low voice. This somehow has an enchanting effect that immediately draws you in.

A steady drum beat continues to provide the groove for the song, evoking the feeling of a beating pulse. As the song slowly builds up to a climax, the beat intensifies and Ha Hyunwoo launches into the powerful and higher range of his vocals.

It’s an out-and-out rock song and may sound less experimental than their previous releases. However, it is brilliant the way the song builds up, with the vocals, arrangement and lyrics working together to create a consistent feel to each layer of the song.

On another note, it seems Ha Hyunwoo is starting to showcase his wide vocal range in recent songs. Where he used to hit the middle and higher registers of his vocal range mainly, he is starting to incorporate the lower register of his vocal range, as heard in recent songs including Challenge (theme song for League of Legends Champions Korea Summer) and now Pulse.

Anyway, here’s a little nugget from Ha Hyunwoo, who wrote the music and lyrics for Pulse:

You are listening now, right?

For one thing, the beats that appear at the start (sound of heartbeat) was a recorded sound I made with my mouth.

(Goosebumps…)

He is an amazing sound box. Enough said.

Update, 7 August 2016: Corrected the guitar tab for Pulse.

__________

__________

Update, 7 July 2016: Hot off the press. Finally, the music video for Pulse is out.

Here’s a live performance of Pulse from day 2 of Guckkasten’s national tour, “Squall”, in Seoul on 12 June 2016.

There is no English translation for the lyrics yet, it seems. So here’s my attempt at translating the lyrics – with lots of help from online dictionaries and a Chinese translation of the lyrics, and my own interpretation.

Pulse

Obscured pulses that are pulsating faintly
Didn’t know it was me right? Didn’t remember me, right?
Me who is invisible, is inhaling a different breath
That I am pretending to be alive, you have no inkling, right?

Just like an imperishable object that is immaculately packed
I was always noxious, I was always lonely

The vibration of my pulsating heart is growing stronger
My desire rising, I am alive again

My eyes are widening with the glowing flame
My desire rising, I am alive again

Obscured pulses that are pulsating faintly
Pushing me towards a place that has not been trodden

Leaving behind the me of old, bringing out the me who has become my own man
Pushing me on

Me who used to be invisible, me who used to pretend to be alive
Because I was always noxious, I used to be very lonely
You knew me, right?

The vibration of my pulsating heart is growing stronger
My desire rising, I am alive again
My eyes are widening with the glowing flame
My desire rising, I am alive again

My heart is opening up to penetrate the world

Obscured pulses that are pulsating vividly
Is welcoming me, telling me to get up
Me who used to be invisible is inhaling sweet-smelling breath
So I am about to be remembered, so I am alive again

Reference: GUCKKASTEN_ChineseFansClub Weibo

13 Replies to “Pulse – 국카스텐 Guckkasten Guitar Tab”

  1. Love Guckkasten! Hyunwoo is definitely expanding his vocal prowess! he was fantastic in that mask show. when is new album available in US?

    1. Hi I valles,

      Ha Hyunwoo’s appearance on King of Mask Singer definitely raised the profile of Guckkasten. 🙂

      I don’t have the answer as to when this new single, Pulse, will be available in the US – I’m assuming you are referring to iTunes. It’s available for purchase on Korean music sites like Melon, Bugs, Olleh and Naver though. Or try OTOTOY, a Japanese site, but seems user-friendly for English speakers.

  2. Thank you for reviewing this song, so addicting I listen to it everyday, and I also like how they started to use Hyunwoo low note skill on this one, they seems to shot something a few days ago, so maybe a music video for this song? I have high hopes for it!
    And if you are interested there’s a FB page to post infos about Guckkasten
    https://www.facebook.com/Guckkasten.Global/?fref=ts
    to spread more support for the band. Thank you so much for making posts about them and the band 🙂

  3. Thank you for reviewing this song, so addicting I listen to it everyday, and I also like how they started to use Hyunwoo low note skill on this one, they seems to shot something a few days ago, so maybe a music video for this song? I have high hopes for it!
    And if you are interested there’s a FB page to post infos about Guckkasten
    https://www.facebook.com/Guckkasten.Global/?fref=ts
    to spread more support for the band. Thank you so much for making posts about them and the band:)

    Reply ↓

Leave a Reply

