걱정말아요 그대 Don’t Worry My Dear – 들국화 Deulgukhwa Guitar Tab

There are so many covers of 걱정말아요 그대 (romanised: Geokjeongmarayo Geudae; translated: Don’t Worry My Dear), originally by Korean rock band 들국화 (Deulgukhwa).

I had a tough time deciding which version to do the guitar tab for. Rather than why I decided to go with the original singer in the end, it was more of why I did not go for the version that I had been working on.

I first heard the song on “King of Mask Singer”, when Music Commander (a.k.a. Guckkasten’s Ha Hyunwoo) performed it and clinched his second consecutive win to reign as the King.

Subsequently, I heard the song on Korean variety show “Infinity Challenge” when Lee Juck was asked to perform it. I knew the original song was by Deulgukhwa, so I wondered why he was requested to specifically sing that song. Digging a little deeper, I found out that Lee Juck covered it for the OST of Korean drama “Reply 1988”.

Then there is also the guitar version by Sungha Jung and other covers by Kim Feel, Yoo Seung Woo, Sung Si Kyung, Kim Yeon Woo…

So, back to why I chose not to go for the version that I had been working on.

It was between Music Commander and Lee Juck. For Music Commander, it was because of his touching delivery of the song, where the emotions conveyed started tenderly before building up in intensity at the climax. For Lee Juck, it was because of the guitar arrangement and the several key changes that the song went through – from A to C to D, and then E. In the end, I went with Lee Juck.

I thought the key changes would be a good challenge and had decided that the song would be played through the key changes without the use of a capo. I figured out the chords of the song and found that not using any capo was not much of an issue.

As always after figuring out a song, I would play along to the track to be sure that I got all the chords right and in the right places. Then, I realised that Lee Juck uses not basic chords, but more exquisite chords and chord fingerings – here’s a clip. It would not do justice to his song arrangement if I label my tab an Lee Juck version but with basic chords.

Hence, I settled on the original singer’s version. I did not follow exactly the version by Deulgukhwa as the chorus gets repeated, in my opinion, too many times towards the end of the song. Just play the chorus two more times to my abridged version to follow the original version of song.

__________

__________

Here is a live performance of the song by Deulgukhwa:

I had a better appreciation for the lyrics better after I heard Lee Juck sing it on “Infinity Challenge”. He sang it at a wedding for the bride’s father during a ‘Wedding Singers’ special. The bride’s father had felt bad for getting injured just before his daughter’s wedding. I looked up the lyrics, and then understood why he sang that song.

Don’t Worry My Dear

My dear, don’t worry about anything
Let’s sing together
Bury all the painful memories
Deep inside your heart

All things past is in the past
They all have a meaning
Sing to the one who left
Say that you loved without regrets

You went through so many difficult things
You lost that newness
All of the hardships
Brush them all off

All things past is in the past
They all have a meaning
Let’s all sing together
Say that you dreamed without regrets

All things past is in the past
They all have a meaning
Let’s all sing together
Say that you dreamed without regrets

All things past is in the past
They all have a meaning
Let’s all sing together
Say that you dreamed without regrets
Say that you will dream a new dream

Source: pop!gasa

10 Comments

    1. Hi Wing,

      My apologies for taking so long to reply. I finally have access to a guitar and was able to figure this out.

      Ha Hyunwoo’s version in King of Mask Singer starts in the key of F, then G for the repeat and finally to A for the final chorus.

      Hope this helps.

      Reply

Leave a comment