봄날의 소나기 (Paper Umbrella) – 예성 Yesung Guitar Tab

This is possibly my favourite song from Super Junior’s Yesung. I like it more than his widely popular first solo track, “너 아니면 안돼” (or, It Has To Be You).

I had put “봄날의 소나기 (Paper Umbrella)” on my list of songs-to-figure-out-the-guitar-tab-for but I always ended up writing about other songs. Recently, this song came up a few times on my playlist, and I got reminded about it again.

I remember when I first heard this song, I was mesmerised by Yesung’s low voice at the beginning of the song. Somehow, the way he delivers that part of the song just pulled me in emotionally.

Yesung, in my opinion, isn’t the most versatile of singers, but this is the kind of song that he handles so well and which his voice is suitable for.

The title track on Yesung’s second mini album, Spring Falling, it has been almost two years since it was released. Nevertheless, “봄날의 소나기 (Paper Umbrella)” is still a good song to listen to. The lyrics is really beautiful too.

Something different about this song is that it undergoes modulation as it transits from the verses and pre-choruses to the choruses. Fortunately, the key changes from Bb to G, and both keys do not contain chords that are too difficult to press on the guitar without the capo. Which means, the guitar tab is written in its original key!

__________

__________

Here’s the music video for the song:

As always, it makes it more relate-able to know what the lyrics mean. Here’s the English translation of the song lyrics.

Paper Umbrella

The moment you left
The whole world turned its back against me
I’m wandering like a crazy person because I miss you
Where are you?

Just like I was not good at loving you
I’m sorry that I was not good at breaking up as well
Because I kept you in the dark and let you go

It’s coming, it’s falling
Between my torn sky
One drop, two drops, a spring shower
I’m trying to picture you, trying to call out to you
In the dawn where memories fell like rain
All night long, I’m in the rain under a paper umbrella

I said I was okay
But I don’t know if I can endure it
Flowers still bloom on this street without you
Endlessly waiting

Just like I loved you foolishly
I’m sorry that I was foolish at breaking up as well
All the things I couldn’t do for you are holding me back like this

It’s coming, it’s falling
Between my torn sky
One drop, two drops, a spring shower
I’m trying to picture you, trying to call out to you
In the dawn where memories fell like rain
All night long, I’m in the rain, just like the day I sent you away

My whole body has become stiff
Just like back then
I can’t move a single step

It’s going, it’s disappearing
Beyond my vision that is blurring
One drop, two drops and still going
On top of the sadly fallen flower petals
In the dawn where memories fell like rain
All night long, I’m in the rain under a paper umbrella

Source: pop!gasa (with modifications by me)

Listen on Apple Music icon
Album cover for Spring Falling - The 2nd Mini Album by YesungSpring Falling – The 2nd Mini Album
YESUNG

Genre: K-Pop
Released: April 18, 2017

Leave a comment